Minutes of 2018 committee meeting


Minutes SWSGS of 25th Jan 2018

Venue: Laurie Arms. Haugh of Urr, Castle Douglas

Present: Peter Cowan: Chairman Andrew Best: Secretary Andrew Braid, James Dunlop, Rhidian Jones, Hugh McClymont, Calum McGinley, Donald Millar, Andrew Nelson, John Watson, David Yates, Robin Campbell,

Apologies: Angus Brown, Wallace Welsh,

Robert Fleming New appointment to committee: Drew Watson.

Stood down from committee. Crawford Wilson,

Calum McGinley appointed as Vice Chairman.

2017 Forage Competition.

A information sheet will be given to each entrant to enable a more uniform assessment of each farm enterprise.This will be presented to the judge at the commencement of the farm visit. Concern was raised about the sum of £369 to provide glasses to the top three in each class. Reference was then made to the bank balances in the societies two accounts, as the 4th November 2017, Bank of Scotland £4472.65 and Clydesdale £2079.24. It was agreed to continue with the prizes. There was a major problem with the judge for the 2017 competition, as he was unable to attend. Understandibly this created alot of problems trying to source a new judge. It was decided, in the event of this happening again, a reserve judge of Mr Hugh McClymont would appointed. Next Farm Meeting: 12th July 2018. Host: John Fisher Meikle Larbrax, Leswalt, Stranraer. Agreed this should be the only farm visit on this day. Mainly due to the distance involved, for members to travel Disrespect to the first host .

Catering to be provided by Sally Hair.

Forage Competition 2018 and Farm Host Date:

Thursday 6th December 2018

Suggested hosts( in order of preference)

1/ Sloan Darnlaw, Auchinleck

/ Lawrie, Sandyford Farm Sandyford, Monkton, Prestwick, Ayrshire, KA9 2SP

3/ Wallace Craigley, Gelston, Castle Douglas

Suggested judge for the Forage competition ( in order of preference)

1/ Andrew Moir

2/ Mark Bothwick, Newbreed

3/ Gregor Colquhoun Ltd, Dendoldrum, Inverbervie.

A.Best will contact the above